Author Topic: a few ?  (Read 2101 times)

Offline gobbetto

a few ?
« on: April 10, 2012, 07:31:06 PM »
I have a few ? and need your help.I have been making Neapolitan WFO pizza for 15 years.I want totry my hand at American / Italian pizza. My dough recipe is as follows:
50# all trumps flour HG
13.5 quarts H2O
1 cup of yeast
1 cup salt
1 cup oil EVOO
1.5 cups sugar

would this recipie work for this style piza? how long should I mix,bulk rise, and after divided into 17.75 for  a 16" pie. I plan on refrigerating in bags after done. how long before Im ready to cook should i remove from fridge? I plan on using a blodget pizza oven at 500 degrees Fh. Any and all help is greatly appriciated. Thanks in advance and ifyou love Italy you got to love PIZZA!

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: a few ?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2012, 07:38:56 PM »
gobbetto,

What kind of yeast will you be using (e.g., fresh, IDY or ADY)? Also, when you say "American" style of pizza, how would you describe that style? Is there an American style pizza already out there in the market that you are trying to emulate? And can you tell me where you got the recipe?

Peter

Offline gobbetto

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2012, 07:46:09 PM »
Pete I am using Fleischman's IDY yeast. The recipe is a mixture from a few pizza shops in my area. The style is like Pizza Outlet. I'M not trying to reproduce it.Thanks for you quick reply!

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2012, 08:32:04 PM »
gobbetto,

From a baker's percent standpoint, this is what your recipe looks like:

All Trumps High-Gluten Flour (100%):
Water (55.0125%):
IDY (0.6375%):
Salt (1.1813%):
Olive Oil (0.95238%):
Sugar (1.26563%):
Total (159.04931%):
22679.99 g  |  800 oz | 50 lbs
12476.83 g  |  440.1 oz | 27.51 lbs
144.58 g | 5.1 oz | 0.32 lbs | 16 tbsp | 1 cups
267.92 g | 9.45 oz | 0.59 lbs | 16 tbsp | 1 cups