Author Topic: Top cooks before bottom in WFO - Need help  (Read 719 times)

Offline Nick Primavera

Top cooks before bottom in WFO - Need help
« on: March 12, 2012, 05:39:52 PM »
Ok, so I've been using a Forno Bravo Primavera 70 for about 2 years now, and it has always gone pretty well.  I have a new load of wood, and this may be the problem, but I figured I'd ask here before assuming.

I did a batch of 60% hydration dough, which is my goto recipe for WFO pizza dough.  I do a neopolitan-ish style with 300g dough ball, stretched to 12", lightly sauced with 1/3 cup Cento San Marzano crushed tomatoes and topped with fresh mozz. The top and edges are done in around 1.5 mins, after 3 turns with the peel, and the cornicione has a nice char, but the bottom is as white as a baby's behind, almost no char whatsoever, and pretty soft.  I preheated the oven  like i always do, by building a fire with about 5 decent sticks of oak, but noticed it hissing and water foam coming out the ends of the wood.  The fire seemed to take a long time to burn down to coals.  This means the wood is not fully cured like the guy I bought it from asid it was.  Could this be the problem? 
« Last Edit: March 12, 2012, 06:48:42 PM by Nick Primavera »

Offline Bill/SFNM

• Lifetime Member
Re: Top cooks before bottom in WFO - Need help
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2012, 06:05:08 PM »
Temperature of the deck is ....?

Offline Nick Primavera

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2012, 06:15:35 PM »
Temperature of the deck is ....?

THAT is a great question, I have been so used to just preheating the oven for an hour, sweeping the fire aside and slapping pizza down, I didn't even measure the deck temps yesterday!

Offline Tscarborough

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
    • Pizza Anarchy
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2012, 08:18:47 PM »
All that moisture boiling out of the wood removes heat, so that is your issue.

Offline Nick Primavera

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2012, 08:46:51 PM »