Author Topic: Need help with Tom Lehman's NY style pizza  (Read 2276 times)

Offline osipov.tima@gmail.com

Need help with Tom Lehman's NY style pizza
« on: April 15, 2012, 08:23:03 AM »
Hi everyone! I started practicing making NY style skins according to Tom Lehman's formula.

Flour   100 %               
Wate     60 %         
ADY      0,5 %         
Salt      1,7 %         
Oil       1 %         
Sugar    1 %   

First I dissolve ADY in water at 110 F and let it still for 10 minutes. Then I mix the dough using a planetary mixer 1 minute at first speed and then 6-8 minutes at second speed. Let it bulk rise at room temperature for at least one hour. Then I form balls and retard for one day.

My first problem occurs when I make balls, the dough turns out to be very sticky and like a mess even though the hydration level is moderate. Still I handle to make dough balls.

I bake on a screen in a deck oven with temperature of "sky" set at 320 C and with temperature of deck set at 380 C. The oven's manual states 4 min time of baking. But following these instructions I have cheese turning brown before the crust is fully baked, actually cheese is burnt whenever I try to get a pie fully baked. So I have to choose between white crust and burnt cheese.

I would appreciate any help and advice on my issue!

Tim

buceriasdon

Re: Need help with Tom Lehman's NY style pizza
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 08:47:49 AM »
Tim, Some people lightly flour the divided dough mass, others like myself lightly oil my hands for balling. This works well at least for me as when I'm done I can slip the ball into a food safe plastic bag and place in the fridge. You might try and up your sugar a point or so to see if that helps with browning. It may also be you may have to try another brand of cheese.
Don

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2012, 03:46:23 PM »