Author Topic: wood fired oven out of steel?  (Read 5802 times)

Online moose13

wood fired oven out of steel?
« on: April 07, 2012, 10:42:32 PM »
I have been a welder for over 20 years. I have recently got into pizza making and really badly want a WFO. Is it possible to make an oven out of steel? Steel pipe cut and welded with an insulating blanket and stucco? Of course have a real brick cooking floor. With some fancy cutting i could actually make a dome with front arch and chimney. Would this work? Any idea of what kind of heat it would produce? Here is a picture of a monster bbq i make for a friend.

scott123

Re: wood fired oven out of steel?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2012, 11:36:56 PM »
That's some nice work. 

There may be some here who think you need more, but, at a minimum, you need a real firebrick cooking floor AND a firebrick ceiling (that isn't too far from the floor). You also need to find a way to insulate it in some way.

Online TXCraig1

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2012, 11:52:24 PM »
I think you could do it, but there are technical challenges not the least of which are thermal mass and insulation. Keeping a smoker at 250F is one thing. Keeping a pizza oven at 900F is entirely different.

CL
Pizza is not bread.

Online moose13

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2012, 09:13:25 PM »
So it would probably be a lot of time, work and money without great results? Might as well build one out of brick i suppose. Just a thought as i am much better with steel and fire than brick and mortar.

Offline sajata

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2012, 10:29:38 AM »