Author Topic: Lodge Cast Iron Pizza Pan - What Am I Doing Wrong?  (Read 7087 times)

Offline BrookBoy

Lodge Cast Iron Pizza Pan - What Am I Doing Wrong?
« on: April 16, 2012, 01:45:11 AM »
I am basically a newbie to making pizza at home, but I've been successful in my several attempts using a pizza stone.  The results have been from OK to terrific (according to my wife).

Tonight, I tried using the Lodge Cast Iron Pizza Pan, and the pie turned out to be soft and floppy, not at all what we usually enjoy.  It wasn't bad, but neither of us liked the softness.

I'm thinking maybe I didn't do it correctly on the pan.  Here's what I did:

First, I fired up the pizza pan on our gas stovetop until it was smoking.  While it heated, I stretched the dough as usual and put on the toppings, all on the pizza peel we use.  Then I slid the composed pizza onto the smoking hot pizza pan, and let it sit on top of the stove over a medium-high flame for maybe a minute, maybe two.

Then I put the pizza pan into the oven where I had already had set the broiler to high, some minutes before.  I left it in the oven for about three minutes, and it had a nice crusty, charred top.  I moved the entire assembly, including the pizza pan, to the stovetop and put it over a medium high flame for about a minute. 

The toppings were bubbling at this point, so I removed it and cut it and found that the bottom of the pizza was not charred.  Unfortunately, it was soft and floppy.  We both still liked the taste, but neither of us cared for the structure at all.  Sadly.

What I'd like to know is this:  was the pizza floppy because of the pan, or did I not leave the pizza on the pan long enough to firm up the bottom?  I'm thinking that I could maybe put an untopped pizza on the pan and put it under the broiler for maybe a minute or two, then take it out and flip the pizza and then add the toppings to the the flipped side.