Author Topic: New member says hello  (Read 1664 times)

Offline williamn

• I Love Pizza!
New member says hello
« on: September 23, 2005, 11:27:49 PM »
This is my first post here! I am an Electrical Engineer here in Houston, Texas.  My wife and I love pizza, we eat it about 3 times a week.  I have many favorites, Chicago style is on top.  I make my own version of Chicago style that everyone likes.  I use the "frugal Gormet" Pizzeria Uno's recipie as a base.  I dont have any measurements because I have made it so many times I just eyeball it, but here are my mods to this recipe.
I use Bread Flour instead of AP. 
For the lipid (oil) I use clarified butter.  I generally use just over 1/2cup(its butter how can you have too much! ;) )
I use 1/4 cup of cornmeal.(consequently just a tad more flour)
When making the dough I tend to keep it on the oily(in this case buttery) side.
After a 8 hour rise time,(when I get home from work)  I am ready to make pizza.
I start by getting out my extra large pasta roller(12" wide).  I take a small amout of dough and run it through, each time folding the dough and runing it through again(gives a nice layered effect).  I do this four times per sheet.  Place the sheet into a small 9" cast iron skillet(heavily greased).  followed by 1/4lbs of sliced mozzerella.  Toppings gereally are a mix of hot itallian sausage sauteed with red bell pepper and onion.  Finally I slap on the sauce followed by tons of romano.  This is my wifes favorite.  I will take a picture next time I make it.   Great forum, I am excited to be a member and I am looking forward to learning some hints and tips.

William
« Last Edit: September 23, 2005, 11:38:09 PM by williamn »

Offline scott r

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizzafreaks!
Re: New member says hello
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2005, 12:24:59 AM »
william, for some reason you have just inspired me to try to make a chicago style for the first time in my life.  WOW

Welcome to the forum!

Offline buzz