Author Topic: Does the type of an outdoor pizza oven floor matter?  (Read 163 times)

Offline markawade

• I Love Pizza!
Does the type of an outdoor pizza oven floor matter?
« on: April 28, 2016, 07:57:06 AM »
Hello,

I know the answer to my subject question is yes, but how and why?  I am trying to pick the best oven in a $3,500 to $4K price range.  I am just beginning my research.  Thanks in advance.

Mark

Offline TXCraig1

• Supporting Member
    • Craig's Neapolitan Garage
Re: Does the type of an outdoor pizza oven floor matter?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 08:47:13 AM »
It doesn't just matter, it's can be huge depending on how you plan to use your oven.

Baking pizza is a matter of top-bottom heat balance. Without proper heat balance you end up with a pie that's burnt on the bottom and white on top or vice versa. Below the pizza, the heat is a function of the temperature and conductivity of the baking surface. Above the pizza, it's a matter of IR radiation from the dome and walls of the oven, the temperature and conductivity of the air, and convection.

The conductivity of the baking surface in a wood fired oven can vary quite a bit with something like biscotto di sorrento or saputo which are probably down near 0.3W/mK to certain fire bricks which are 1.3W/mK. By comparison, a typical cordierite pizza stone is about 3.0W/mK and a steel plate which is about 50W/mK. To make it more confusing, the conductivity varies (increases) with the temperature and not everyone measures conductivity at the same temp.

For a wood fired oven that is going to be used at very high temperature - such as for Neapolitan pizza - you need very low conductivity. The floor material supplied with most WFOs is too conductive - some are way too conductive - for Neapolitan pizza. In an oven like this, you end up needing to "dome" the pizza which means lifting it off the deck with the peel for a portion of the bake. Depending on the oven, it might be half the bake.