Author Topic: First try NY style pizza - dough problems  (Read 2756 times)

Offline awol567

First try NY style pizza - dough problems
« on: June 17, 2012, 09:58:39 PM »
Hello all,

I'd like to thank you all in advance for reading my post.  I'm a beginner in the kitchen, having just moved out of my university dorms into my own apartment, but I would like to get much better.  I'm from Queens, NY originally, and I've been wanting to make my own NY style pizza since I moved out to Nebraska for college.

Today I baked my first pizza, having prepared the dough, sauce, and cheese the day before.  The end result was a misshapen, thick crust, but it had a decent feel (a bit on the hard side).  The sauce and the cheese were pretty close to what I remember from everyday street pizzerias, but I'd like to get the dough right before I tweak these.

I was encouraged by the fact that this is my very first try, but I am still somewhat disappointed at the result.  I would have included pictures, but the attachment limit is small, 128 kb, and I didn't feel like compressing the images further, it'd only reduce the image quality.  Can someone show me how to upload high-res images?

I used the Lehmann recipe, adjusting slightly for the fact that I did not have high-gluten flour (I opted for bread flour) by reducing the dough hydration.  Here is the breakdown for the dough:

9.54 oz King Arthur Bread Flour
    5.54 oz water, purified
    0.02 oz (.18 tsp) Fleishmann instant dry yeast (bread machine)
    0.17 oz (.85 tsp) sea salt
    0.1 oz (0.6 tsp) oil, light
        0.1 oz (0.6 tsp) sugar

I used a cheap kitchen scale to do the measurements, so I expect that the heavier items (i.e. flour & water) were fairly accurate.  For the lightweight items, I estimated them by volume, so they were not EXACT, perhaps within 50% error (maybe more with the yeast). 

These measurements were taken exactly from the provided Lehmann pizza dough calculator found here: