Author Topic: Starter from Ken Forkish book smelling very alcoholic  (Read 119 times)

Offline cavino

• I Love Pizza!
Starter from Ken Forkish book smelling very alcoholic
« on: July 19, 2016, 08:11:01 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to making pizza and this is my first time making a levain and using a starter.  I'm using the levain from Ken Forkish's new book The Elements of Pizza and I'm on day 6, on eof the last days of the levain before maintaining it.

When I go to feed the Levain in the afternoon, it has a very very VERY strong nail polish kind of smell.  According to other things I've read, this smell should be only slightly present and there should be a much stronger yeast smell or even a milky smell.

For what it's worth I'm using room temp water and I live in Nevada where the climate is dry and hot.  My A/C is set on 78 degrees, but it seems cooler in here to me.  Maybe closer to 75 or 76 degrees F.  I have been feeding the starter once per day with 100g AP flour and 100g water.  I originally used whole wheat and gradually replaced it with AP white flour as things got groovin'.  There are plenty of bublbles and when I discard and feed, the starter is very goopy and sticky. 

Does anyone know what may be going wrong (if anything)? Am I not feeding often enough?  Too often?  Do I just need to be more patient and give it more time? 

I'll take pictures and post them if it will help.  Let me know, thanks!

-Chris

Online mitchjg

• Supporting Member
Re: Starter from Ken Forkish book smelling very alcoholic
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2016, 08:42:07 PM »
If, after feeding and at room temperature, your starter is doubling after something like 4 hours - you are fine.

The smell is alcohol - which is a normal part of the fermentation.  The longer it goes, the more the alcohol accumulates.  The shorter it goes, the less alcohol.