Author Topic: No Kneading Pan Pizza Dough???  (Read 2659 times)

Offline TomN

No Kneading Pan Pizza Dough???
« on: January 24, 2013, 05:07:13 PM »
A friend at work gave me this link for making Pan Pizza in a skillet. As I read the receipe, I noticed that they do NOT knead the dough in this receipe. I have always keaded the dough so this seems strange. Has anyone tried this before? Thanks.

The Article

http://slice.seriouseats.com/archives/2013/01/the-pizza-lab-the-worlds-easiest-pizza-no-knead-no-stretch-pan-pizza.html?utm_medium=referral&utm_source=pulsenews

The Recipe

http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2013/01/foolproof-pan-pizza-recipe.html

Does not seem like enough liquid either???
« Last Edit: January 24, 2013, 05:33:07 PM by TomN »

Offline The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
Re: No Kneading Pan Pizza Dough???
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 09:02:46 AM »
Tom;
I've been using a very similar (almost identical) method for making pizza and bread doughs ever since I studied bread making practices in Romania almost 40-years ago. It works like a charm, and the 60 to 65% dough absorption is about right. We refer to the process as "biochemical gluten development". The only thing kneading or use of a mixer really accomplishes is faster gluten development, however faster gluten development goes bring some baggage in the form of a tighter, more springy dough that has to be addressed before the dough can be given its final shaping. I spent a good part of the Holidays this year at our son's home in Kansas City and during that time I made breakfast rolls, dinner breads, pizza and calzones all using this dough making process because it required so little of my time.
Tom Lehmann/The Dough Doctor

Offline TomN

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2013, 11:53:44 AM »
Tom,

Thank you for the response. I really appreciate it.

TomN

Offline slybarman

• Supporting Member
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2013, 11:54:51 AM »