Author Topic: Making neapolitan pizza with parchment paper  (Read 1735 times)

Offline simcha

• Supporting Member
Making neapolitan pizza with parchment paper
« on: July 06, 2012, 10:53:06 AM »
Hi everyone, complete pizza noob here and I've been trying to make some neapolitan pizzas with little success.

I'm using Jeff Varasano's recipe and the hydration is pretty high (62-65%).  The problems I'm running into is that the dough is super sticky and I'm using a ton of bench flour and it's still sticking to the counter, forget about the peel.

I was going to try making my pizza on parchment paper with no flour on the bottom and then putting the parchment on the peel and in the oven at 700 degrees.  Will this help solve my problem of working with a wet dough?

Just to recap:  When I take the dough out of the container I put it on a well floured surface and begin to knead out the dough from the center.  What happens is that I try to pick the dough up and it's stuck to the counter and stretches and get holes, etc. 

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.  I'm going to try making a few pies on Sunday.

Thanks for the help!

Offline Whiskyb

Re: Making neapolitan pizza with parchment paper
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2012, 11:49:33 AM »
I have used it as you describe, after about a minute I can open the door and pull the paper out effortlessly leaving the pie to cook on the stone

Offline simcha

• Supporting Member
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2012, 01:10:24 PM »
Cool thanks for the fast reply!  Eventually I would like to learn how to do it the real way, I feel the parchment paper is kinda cheating. 

I'll report back on Sunday after the pies are done.

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2012, 01:37:14 PM »
Eventually I would like to learn how to do it the real way, I feel the parchment paper is kinda cheating. 

simcha,