Author Topic: Doughvolution  (Read 1974 times)

Offline juniorballoon

• Supporting Member
    • Sirfoodalot
Doughvolution
« on: July 15, 2012, 02:41:54 PM »
Doughvolution

I've been making pizza for a couple of years now and just had an aha moment. I was working for the first time with cold fermentation and a recipe for Neapolitan pizza from seriouseats.com, http://slice.seriouseats.com/archives/2012/07/the-pizza-lab-three-doughs-to-know.html?ref=pop_serious_eats. What a great dough. Stretchy, supple, strong, and hence a great pizza.

My first pizze were very disappointing. The crust was dry and hard as a rock at the rim and doughy and downright undercooked in the center. I donít remember the recipe for the dough, KAAP, Water, Olive oil, Salt and Fleischmanís fresh yeast. That I remember, but how much of each? Too much, too little and not enough is what the finished product said.  I do know that I kneaded the hell out of it as I was accustomed to making pasta and thought the processes were similar. I was wrong, very wrong. This pizza was cooked in a home oven at 400 on a thin metal sheet. It was truly, barely edible. I was so disappointed. So much time, effort, not to mention the cost of materials, to produce this? Well, I Almost called it quits because I had no idea where things had gone so wrong. When you have no idea what to try next itís hard to envision the path forward.