Author Topic: My First Pizza Using Ischia Starter Instead of ADY  (Read 1106 times)

Offline Everlast

My First Pizza Using Ischia Starter Instead of ADY
« on: July 25, 2012, 01:46:47 PM »
I've been making pizzas in my Primavera 60 WFO for the last 7 months using ADY for my dough. I was implementing a 3 hour warm rise followed by 24 hours bulk rise in the fridge, another 24 hours balled, then a re-ball and 3 hours proofing at 75F (Caputo 00, 65% hydration 2% salt, .6% ADY). I had become increasingly curious about using a starter but didn't think I was ready yet. Also, my wife kept telling me that my pizzas couldn't get any better so why bother messing with the dough recipe. I tried the Tartine method using my same dough recipe but didn't notice much improvement. After a number of pizza nights where I felt my pizzas just weren't improving much, I decided to take a shot on a starter. Two weeks ago I ordered the Ischia and Camoldi starters from Ed Wood. I decided to go with the Ischia starter first after reading on this message board that the Ischia yeast was more popular among members here for making pizza. It took a full 8 days to activate the Ischia starter. I followed the directions exactly as provided - 24 hours at exactly 90F, then the next 7 days at exactly 70F with feedings of 140g flour/169g water. For the first 5 days I used Caputo 00 flour, then after going through 2-3 bags, I decided to switch to KAAP. Coincidence or not, as soon as I switched to KAAP, the starter seemed to activate the same day. Once activated I used the following workflow for the dough:

Caputo 00 flour
65% hydration
10% starter at 55% hydration
2% salt