Author Topic: Beginner needing a neapolitan dough recipe  (Read 587 times)

Offline RickPetralia

• I Love Pizza!
Beginner needing a neapolitan dough recipe
« on: February 25, 2015, 09:08:57 AM »
I'm looking for a great tasting Neapolitan dough recipe that is easy to stretch.  Any suggestions?  While I am new to Neapolitan pizza, I am not new to cooking so the required skill level can be relatively high.  Thanks!

Offline TXCraig1

• Craig's Neapolitan Garage
Re: Beginner needing a neapolitan dough recipe
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2015, 09:51:44 AM »
What sort of oven will you be using?
Pizza is not bread. Craig's Neapolitan Garage

Offline RickPetralia

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2015, 03:54:34 PM »
Convential Oven at home with pizza stone

Offline Chaze215

« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2015, 08:02:55 PM »
Traditional Neapolitan pizza can not be made at home in a conventional oven. You need 800+ degrees and home ovens aren't reaching those temps.
Chaz

Offline PrimeRib

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizza!
Beginner needing a neapolitan dough recipe
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2015, 09:28:08 PM »
I agree on the oven issue, but this link has the official VPN recipe if you want to try it in your oven.

http://www.pizzanapoletana.org/public/pdf/VPN%20disciplinare%20english.pdf

Another:

http://www.ilariasperfectrecipes.com/vera-pizza-napoletana-neapolitan/
« Last Edit: March 17, 2015, 09:32:51 PM by PrimeRib »

Offline jhorace

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2015, 01:36:12 PM »
Try this recipe. I had a wood burning oven built a while back, but before that had been experimenting with how to make a good Neapolitan in the home oven. This recipe has some modifications that can help make a better Neapolitan at lower temps... The process is long, but the combination of that long process and the dough blend I found over time can help overcome the lack of a 700F oven. Give it a try!!

Dough (provides enough for two 14 inch shells):