Author Topic: preshaping dough  (Read 1425 times)

Offline Dave_in_WI

• I Love Pizza!
preshaping dough
« on: October 18, 2005, 10:09:50 PM »
Okay... noob here.  I've been searching the internet and I haven't been able to find a definative answer to my question.

We're planning a "make-your-own-pizza" party this weekend.  We would like to make our own dough.. but, we'd also like to "preshape" them maybe a day or two in advance.   But, everything I read about pre-making dough talks about freezing it in "ball" form.   But, I want to go a step beyond that.

How can I achieve this? 

Ultimate goal is to be able to whip out a crust, put on some toppings, and bake.

Thanks in advance.

Offline canadianbacon

• DoughBoy
Re: preshaping dough
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2005, 11:16:02 PM »
Hi Dave and welcome !  ;D

Go ahead and preshape 'em !  :)

getting your dough into the shape you are going to bake it in is prob the longest process after making the actual dough.

I preshape my dough do this all the time.  So did my mother years ago, and still does.

Make your dough,
get it stretched out on your pan
get it into the freezer.

Now the day of the party, get it out and onto the counter a good 2 hours before.
This will let it thaw out and start to rise....
you can even start topping it while it is frozen if you are in a hurry.

Pop it into the oven when you are ready.

There's absolutely NO rules about not doing this, if there were, then you would never see these frozen
pizzas in stores. 

Yup you are on the right track, get the dough done and then all you have to do is top the pies.  That's easy and you
can do it while sipping your favourite beer.

P.S. - I have many times made my fresh dough, rolled out the dough to fit my pans.... I'll make 2 pizzas,
one I bake that night, the other ? ... I preshape it, and even dress it !  and into the freezer it goes and I use it a few days later