Author Topic: What's Your Job In The REAL World....besides being a food geek  (Read 4695 times)

Offline Jackitup

What's Your Job In The REAL World....besides being a food geek
« on: September 03, 2012, 09:11:07 PM »
To Everyone
A thread like this was started on another Forum a long time ago that turned out to be one of the longest, most interesting threads to read thru. Many of us have some clue to what we do out there besides hang out on a Pizza Forum so here's your chance to share if you'd like. I am a Critical Care Respiratory Therapist up here in Mpls Children's Hospital. Before that I was dishwasher (starting at 10 years old) then cook, waitress some??, host,  Army for 3 years in Germany, bar manager and cook again, couple different extrusion type factory jobs and then a counter-top fabricator for 11 years. After the 11 years of lifting and carrying up to 150 pound counter-tops for 8-10 hours a day my back walked out on me and was on workers comp for a couple years and had God's sense to re-do myself at 35 to become an RT. I have loved doing Respiratory from the day I started and now 22 years later still love it. I work in the Pediatric, Cardiovascular and the Neonatal ICU's running ventilators, specialty gasses and medications in the treatment on 300 gram kids to adult size and after all this time it still scares the sh1! out of me. I tell new grads "Never Stop Being Afraid Of Patients" that way 1, you won't screw up as often 2, you catch your mistakes sooner than later, and 3, hopefully you have done no harm when it happens. The only thing that scared me as much as what I do at work was raising my 3 daughters, and now watching the grand-kids come from that. I still have horrible back issue that haunt me daily and every now and then I thank God for the bad back that gave me a career. Then I go back to bitching about how much it hurts again!!