Author Topic: kitchenaid 600 problems  (Read 2086 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline twinreverb

  • Registered User
  • Posts: 4
kitchenaid 600 problems
« on: September 17, 2012, 01:46:19 PM »
so, the other day while i was making pasta dough, the planetary dropped out of my kitchenaid 600 mixer. a quick google search showed me that this is a pretty common problem. i'm hoping some of the resourceful members here have some good diy solutions.


Offline TXCraig1

  • Registered User
  • Posts: 12706
  • Location: Houston, TX
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2012, 02:11:04 PM »
Since Hobart stopped making Kitchenaid mixers, they are basically useless when it comes to making dough. They just can't handle the stress.
Pizza is not bread.

Offline rcbaughn

  • Supporting Member
  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Age: 26
  • Location: Birmingham, AL
  • Love my pup and pizza!
    • My Facebook
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2012, 03:27:51 PM »
That scares me, I got a 600 about 4 months ago.
More is better..... and too much is just right.

Offline Bobino414

  • Supporting Member
  • *
  • Posts: 288
  • Location: Florida
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2012, 04:10:56 PM »

Cory

Relax.  Take a deep breath.

I disagree with Craig that "they are basically useless when it comes to making dough."

You just need to recognize that it has batch size limitations.  Above a 1200 gram dough my machine will bog down and start to overheat, so if your batches are below this, you should have no problem.  In my experience Kitchenaid is responsive if you have a problem. 

I would venture a guess that most members that use mechanical kneading are using Kitchenaid.  Some members prefer spiral, fork, or hand mixing so they may never like a planetary mixer like your Kitchenaid.

Bob

Offline Meatballs

  • Registered User
  • Posts: 196
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2012, 04:17:44 PM »
Agreed,  I have 2 Kitchenaids, they are fine for dough and both get quite a workout in my pantry.  Fortunately, because its a popular product there are many websites for both help and repair parts.  Try to find a part for some of the more obscure brands out there...good luck.  I've had no problems with either mixer in about 15 years, and they are used at least 3 or so times a week.

I would simply Google the problem and see if you can find somebody who has posted a detailed fix for the problem.

Ron

Offline TXCraig1

  • Registered User
  • Posts: 12706
  • Location: Houston, TX
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2012, 05:04:17 PM »

I disagree with Craig that "they are basically useless when it comes to making dough."


You're right. That was too strong. They are just fine for dough until they break down. Then they are worthless...

Seriously, Bob is right. Don't push it too hard.
Pizza is not bread.

Offline rcbaughn

  • Supporting Member
  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Age: 26
  • Location: Birmingham, AL
  • Love my pup and pizza!
    • My Facebook
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2012, 05:20:34 PM »
My machine has made a whiring noise since day one, the 600 is very loud I've read. Did yours do that as well twinreverb?
More is better..... and too much is just right.

Offline twinreverb

  • Registered User
  • Posts: 4
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2012, 10:47:51 PM »
mine can get pretty loud. or did, anyway. i've got the planetary back in place, but haven't tried using it again yet. from what i've read about the problem, that seems to be all you can do. it's held in place with the friction of the gears and nothing else. if i find any useful information i'll post it here in case you ever need it. hopefully you won't.

Online slybarman

  • Registered User
  • Posts: 1029
  • Location: Maryland
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2012, 09:41:48 AM »
I have the Professional 6, which I assume is similar to the 600. FWIW - in the manual, it made a point of saying only use speed #2 for heavier doughs. I guess that is the sweet spot for torque.

Offline twinreverb

  • Registered User
  • Posts: 4
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2012, 10:48:53 AM »
I'll keep that in mind. I bought mine used. No manual.


Online slybarman

  • Registered User
  • Posts: 1029
  • Location: Maryland
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2012, 11:03:37 AM »
Manuals can be downloaded from Kitchen-aid's website.

Offline Jet_deck

  • Supporting Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3041
  • Location: Between Houston and Mexico
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2012, 12:46:27 PM »
There are a bunch of Vintage Hobart K5-a mixers on ebay now.
Her mind is Tiffany-twisted, she got the Mercedes bends

Offline rcbaughn

  • Supporting Member
  • *
  • Posts: 929
  • Age: 26
  • Location: Birmingham, AL
  • Love my pup and pizza!
    • My Facebook
Re: kitchenaid 600 problems
« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2012, 10:30:59 PM »
There are a bunch of Vintage Hobart K5-a mixers on ebay now.

Wish Ida kept my receipt, I'd return this 600 and get a vintage one. That would be fun to break one down and restore it. Try out my new paint gun on it too.
More is better..... and too much is just right.