Author Topic: La Casa Pizza - Omaha, NE  (Read 929 times)

Offline moneysshot

La Casa Pizza - Omaha, NE
« on: November 16, 2012, 12:31:18 PM »
Hi Everyone!

I just started getting into making my own pies and wanted to see if I could pick the brains of the experts. There is a local pizza place here in Omaha, NE called La Casa  (http://www.lacasapizzaria.net/zgrid/themes/10494/portal/index.jsp) that has a different neapolitan style than I have seen before. The crust is crispy and thinner, but the center is chewy. I believe they use square pans and run it through a conveyor-type oven.

I have been checking the various styles and believe it is like a neapolitan crossed with a cracker crust. I honestly am not sure. I was just wondering if anyone has ideas on how to replicate this type of crust? Should I form and cook the pie on a square cookie sheet directly on my stone? Like I said, I am very new to pizza making and have probably 3 batches of dough under my belt so far, but cant wait to make my next. Any ideas or guidance would be greatly appreciated! THanks

Trev

Offline mkevenson

• Lifetime Member
  • Roos! Protector of Fowl
Re: La Casa Pizza - Omaha, NE
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2012, 07:53:11 PM »
Trev, Welcome to the forums. Just wondering why you think that pan cooked pizza is a Neapolitan cross?

There is a pretty general description of a lot of styles of pizza in the forum listings. From what I have read and seen the process and ingredients for making a Neapolitan pie are pretty specific.

Mark
"Gettin' better all the time" Beatles

Offline dellavecchia

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2012, 06:57:00 AM »
Hello Trev - You will be very surprised to find you can make that pizza very easily. Can you possibly post a shot of a slice cross section so we can see the crumb?

John

Offline moneysshot

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2012, 01:59:34 PM »