Author Topic: 8% Ischia + 1/16 tsp IDY too much?  (Read 164 times)

Online jvp123

• Supporting Member
  • Learning and loving it!
8% Ischia + 1/16 tsp IDY too much?
« on: August 15, 2014, 11:18:21 AM »
I made two test dough balls yesterday and this morning only after about 14 hours one of my dough balls is very active.  To date I've only been using small amounts of IDY in my pizzas and this is my first attempt at incorporating a preferment.

One test is without IDY and 3% preferment and the other is 1/16 tsp IDY and 8% preferment.

The one without the IDY (less rise) is about what I am used to seeing with my non preferment pizzas previously.

My intention was to let them both sit for 48 hours at room temp (72F).

My question is:  Is the big one blowing up too much too soon?  I'm just curious is there is a right or wrong with that and how that affects the crumb.

Jeff

Offline Donjo911

• Supporting Member
Re: 8% Ischia + 1/16 tsp IDY too much?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2014, 12:43:51 PM »
I don't know if I can answer your question.  I'm thinking of what my dough balls look like in the containers and wonder how much your dough balls weigh and what the size of the containers are. That may be useful for others too in order to make a reference.
Cheers,
Don
Few great accomplishments are achieved single-handedly, Most have their Norgays.
How do you spot a Norgay?
You start with the people with the funny names.

Online jvp123

• Supporting Member
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2014, 01:00:26 PM »
I don't know if I can answer your question.  I'm thinking of what my dough balls look like in the containers and wonder how much your dough balls weigh and what the size of the containers are. That may be useful for others too in order to make a reference.
Cheers,
Don

Good point Don.  I guess it was a bit of a silly question.  Those are 325 g dough balls in a 1.6 QT container.