Author Topic: Converting an Ischia starter into a GF starter?  (Read 103 times)

Offline raphaels

• I Love Pizza!
Converting an Ischia starter into a GF starter?
« on: Yesterday at 12:15:02 PM »
Hi all,

I am new to sourdough baking. I started with an Ischia culture and wondering if it is possible to turn my Ischia culture that I feed with regular bread flour, to a gluten free sourdough culture using gluten free flour? How many feedings would it take to achieve this?

Thank you:)
Raphael

Offline mitchjg

• Supporting Member
Re: Converting an Ischia starter into a GF starter?
« Reply #1 on: Yesterday at 12:31:08 PM »
According to a baking book (How to Make Sourdough - Emmanuel Hadjiandreou) I have, the answer is yes.  He shows a bunch of starters that he created with bases that include barley, chickpea, oats, quinoa and several more.

I would suggest you give it a try by starting with, perhaps, 50 grams Ischia (made with flour, I assume), 25 grams water, 25 grams your new grain.  Let it ferment for a few hours.

Discard half and then feed it again with 25 grams of your new grain, 25 grams of water.
Repeat, repeat.

By the time you do it 6 times, for example, the original flour (the original 50 grams of Ischia was 25 grams flour + 25 grams water), it will be down to 1/2 * 1/2 * 1/2 * 1/2 *1/2 * 1/2 = 1/64 of the 25 grams = .4 grams of flour (not material) and 24.6 grams of your new grain.

Assume it does things similar to Ischia - bubbles and grows and roughly doubles in size, then you have a gluten free starter.

I can't tell you how well it works only that it should be possible.
Mitch

“We hate math,” says 4 in 10 – a majority of Americans

Offline JD

« Reply #2 on: Yesterday at 01:37:39 PM »
A few years ago I obtained a San Francisco sourdough starter that was maintained with dried potato flakes. I don't see why you couldn't do the same with Ischia following Mitch's procedure.
JD's NY Style
JD's Neapolitan using my Pizza Party WFO

You cannot teach experience.