Author Topic: Glad to be here! Looking forward to being part of this community!  (Read 476 times)

Offline VivaSirena

I've been reading these forums for years. I think it's about time I join!

My name is Matt.  I am a chemical engineer by day, but pizza making has been a hobby of mine for a few years.  I live in the Midland, Michigan area, but I originally am from the Pittsburgh PA area (I know Penn Mac very well - been there many times).  Half of my heritage is German/Polish and the other half is Italian. My uncles on the Italian side owned and operated pizza shops in the Pittsburgh area from the time I was born until I was about 21. I grew up around it, but should have paid better attention to the process!! I just loved eating it!  ;D  I've had all sorts of pizzas in my life (from NY street pizza to New Haven pizza, VPN, etc etc) and their style was truly unique - but I would most closely describe it as mostly NY style street pizza (although on their menu they called it Neapolitan). They also made an amazing Sicilian style that I very much miss.  Anyway, that is what got me started in this hobby.  The desire to be reunited with the flavors of my Uncles pizza shops.  Others may prefer other styles of pizza, but this is  'in my blood' - from the earliest age - that's what I knew pizza to be.  Unfortunately my Uncles since moved on to other careers (they burned out from running Pizza shops) and I don't get to see them very often.  I've tried and tried to clone this style of pizza, but haven't quite been able to (as I said, I wish I would have paid better attention in my youth).  The quest continues. But, I'm pretty pleased with what I've done so far (I'll post pics sometime).  I hosted my whole work group and many friends for pizza parties, and they all say it's the best pizza they've had, so I must be doing something right.  ;D.