Author Topic: New Guy, Pizzeria Dreams  (Read 109 times)

Offline pizza_fiend

• I SERIOUSLY Love Pizza!
New Guy, Pizzeria Dreams
« on: June 28, 2014, 01:33:38 AM »
Hi everyone. My name is Angel, but I go by Nemo. I am in Corona, CA (Southern CA, about 30-40 miles SW of LA). I have no culinary background. I am a foodie and my favorite food is pizza. I strongly dislike all large chain pizzerias (Papa Johns, Dominos, Pizza Hut, Lamp Post, etc) because of obvious quality issues. I am very fond of small "mom n pops" type places because the pizza at each is always different and they typically give a much better quality pie. Im sure all of that is obvious to everyone here, but I haven't done a whole lot of lurking yet so I don't know what a lot of the general agreed upon ideas are yet amongst you pizza guys.

I have messed around with basic recipes and made pizzas at home using a pre-heated steel baking slab in my regular gas oven and they have come out pretty good. I have never used an out door or specialty oven for pizzas yet, but I have been interested for a long time. I have just been so busy with work, babies, upgrades to the house, etc etc etc. But for a long time I have dreamed about building a wood-firing pizza/bread oven in my back yard. I am an avid do-it-yourselfer and I think I could have great success. After a few days of poking around on here I have started noticing that there are a lot of economical options for pre-built or modular ovens and Im actually pretty interested in them. I also take great pride in building things myself, so my pride might eventually make me decide to build my own, maybe not my first, but I guess we will see.