Author Topic: newbie wants to open a neapolitan pizzeria  (Read 10022 times)

Offline schneich

• I Love Pizza!
newbie wants to open a neapolitan pizzeria
« on: March 05, 2013, 10:08:05 AM »
hi,

my name is torsten, for over six years i owned a french patisserie here in cologne and duesseldorf region with 4 shops.
so i know a little something how to open shops and stuff. four months ago i left the company to live my dream of
opening a neapolitan pizzeria in cologne. in 2011 i did a research trip to napoli visiting Stefano Ferrara, all the pizza temples and
all the important caseificios. luckily i will be able to get my mozz from caseificio barlotti in paestum region.
at the moment i am searching for a place to rent. since i have some experience with dough :-) (we did our own Bread, Baguette, Croissant and Brioche)
iam also making some progress with my dough. For starters i think i will go with yeast. having read the vast amount of info on this board i tried to get
a recipe to start with:

1000g    caputo blue flour
600g      h2o 20C
30g       salt
2g         fresh yeast

mix water salt and yeast, add flour in 2 steps, after flour is all wet 20 min. autolyse after that
30 min. slow kneading (kenwood major) then about 5 mins handkneading to smooth things out.
i find that even after 30 mins. kneading the dough is still very rough... :/ then shape a big ball
put in a bowl covered with cling film and let proff 24h at room temp. next day between 3-6 h. before
baking i shape the balls...

at the mo i bake my pies in a ikea oven with the self cleaning program.
at the lower third i put a wire rack and a round pizza stone, thats it...

the pies bake for a maximum of 120 seconds...

suggestions a comments are very welcome :-)

cheers

torsten

here is a picture of my last bake (Filetti):

Offline Jet_deck

• Supporting Member
Re: newbie wants to open a neapolitan pizzeria
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 10:11:38 AM »
I'll buy one.