Author Topic: Pizza Stone vs. Cast Iron  (Read 4991 times)

Offline RSMBob

• I Love Pizza!
Pizza Stone vs. Cast Iron
« on: January 12, 2006, 08:32:09 PM »
Hi all,

I've been making pizzas for 20 years now and have gone through a variety of stones (and pans and screens)...my latest one is almost 10 years old (yea, no ckracking, chipping or breakage!). Recently, I got a Lodge cast iron double burner griddle and never having really used cast iron before, I am VERY impressed with the way it has cooked. In the two weeks I've had it, it hasn't left the stove top except for rinsing/scrubbing.

It got me to thinking about the use of cast iron instead of a pizza stone for baking thin crust pizzas. Lodge makes a couple of them...link below. Anyone use them or have opinions about their viability compared to a traditional stone?

https://secure.lodgemfg.com/storefront/product1.asp?idProduct=3984

Offline Christopher

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Pizza Stone vs. Cast Iron
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2006, 09:05:45 PM »
Hi, RSMBob,
it is definately an interesting concept. Mario Batali has a restaraunt (otto) where he makes thin crust pizzas on an iron griddle and  they look pretty tasty and there is a style of italian pita-type bread called piadina that was at one time cooked on a tile but is now cooked in iron skillets or so i have read. i have had an interest in trying this since it is novel and cast iron pans are pretty cheap. if you try it out please post back with your results. i am interested.
christopher

Offline scott r

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizzafreaks!
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2006, 03:55:11 AM »
The heat retention will certainly be good, but I think I have read that one of the attributes of the stone is that it draws moisture out of the dough.

Offline gottabedapan

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2006, 12:56:19 PM »