Author Topic: Anyone milling their own flour?  (Read 666 times)

Offline Andrew Bellucci

• Questioning authority since 1971
    • AndrewBellucci.com
Anyone milling their own flour?
« on: August 18, 2015, 05:12:54 AM »
Starting to read more about this - two new places in NYC, Hearth & Bruno are doing it and of course Pizza Locale out of Colorado is looking to mill on a national level, with Chipotle's backing.  Anyone out there with real world experience?

Offline David Esq.

• Making pizza since 2013
    • Eating With David
Re: Anyone milling their own flour?
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2015, 08:25:26 AM »
For home or commercial? I do it at home.  Makes for outstanding flavor.

Offline misterschu

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2015, 09:41:22 AM »
I've been milling my own flour for a few months with a L'Equip Vitalmill. I purchased 25# of hard red wheat berries from the LDS Home Storage Center, it's hard to beat their price... but not the quality.

At first I was leaving it 100% whole grain but was having a lot of trouble getting a good rise for my breads, so I've started filtering it. I bought a $7 filter from H-Mart that catches all the larger bran pieces, the smaller bran and the rest of the wheat passes, but I have no idea of the filter size.

I recently made a focaccia with home-milled kamut and farro (both Bob's red mill brand).

As David mentioned, the flavor is remarkable. It has the sweetness that whole wheat breads sometimes have but without any bitterness that WW can have. The smell of the fresh-milled flour is great, very sweet, and it all comes out in the final product.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2015, 09:45:50 AM by misterschu »

Offline invertedisdead

• Ryan
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2015, 12:20:26 PM »
Isn't Bonci doing this? I thought I read somewhere he was. I know he is huge on flour quality.

Offline charbo

• Supporting Member
  • Wheat
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2015, 12:31:39 PM »