Author Topic: Dry dough  (Read 639 times)

Offline mcgrane

Dry dough
« on: March 12, 2013, 04:41:49 PM »
Hey, back again. After the advice i was given the last time, resulting in very tasty pizza  :chef: The last dough i made was fairly dry.. it took a lot of kneading to form a ball.. and when it was ready, after leaving it over night in the fridge, was not very elastic feeling. Is this from a low level of hydration ?? I have made a handful with similar results.. as i am new to all of this im unsure if its something im doing wrong, in ingrediants or prep.. as  i do remeber some of my earlier ones being alot more strectible.

Offline Chicago Bob

• Lifetime Member
  • Easy peazzy
Re: Dry dough
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2013, 04:50:00 PM »
Yes mcgrane, a dry dough would indicate a low amount of water(hydration).
Check your measurements closely...make sure you are doing things the same way you did on the dough that you had success with.
Bob
"Care Free Highway...let me slip away on you"

Offline mcgrane

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2013, 05:22:44 PM »
That was the confusing part.. i messure it all exactly, because i dont know what im doing :P, and keep it consistent untill i get a base knowledge to go by... maybe ill just try more water in the next go and see how it goes ;)
Thanks !

Offline Chicago Bob

• Lifetime Member
  • Easy peazzy
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2013, 05:30:55 PM »
Ok good...that would have been my next suggestion mcgrane. Just add more water in small amount, maybe 1/2 table spoon at a time untill you get the consistency of that good one you made and write down how much more  was needed so you'll have that for next time.  ;)

Bob

Online mkevenson

• Lifetime Member
  • Roos! Protector of Fowl
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2013, 06:00:13 PM »