Author Topic: THE SMOKE EFFECT  (Read 1322 times)

Offline TONY

• I Love Pizza!
THE SMOKE EFFECT
« on: January 16, 2006, 02:23:51 PM »
I’ve been making pizza at home for several years now, a lot more (about 1 a week) since I found this web site.  I’ve tried just about everything, different dough mixes using various flours  (including starter culture) different bake temps, various toppings including San Marzano tomatoes, Grande cheese etc. Etc…………..I’m pretty happy with the pizza I can produce thus far, good crumb, taste, and texture.   But they’re seems to be something missing.  It’s that pizzeria taste I just can’t put my finger on it.  The only thing that I cannot duplicate is a commercial pizza oven.  I’ve been to several pizzerias.  One in particular I can recall is Vincent’s in Pittsburg Pa.  There are several in Pittsburgh.  The one I visited was like an assembly line.  The girl was producing a pie about every few minutes.  She would pull the dough/disc from the proof box throw it on a floured table, flip it once or twice using her fists to stretch the dough to shape (which was sometimes round, and sometimes not)…. she would then quickly spread one or two ladles of sauce on the pie (depending on the size). Then she would pick up as much cheese as she could with two hands and practically throw it on the pie.  She did the same for the rest of whatever topping that was ordered.  There was cheese, and topping all over the place, not only in and around the center of the pie but on the outer crust as well, (so when you got your pie there was burnt cheese and topping on the crust).  She then scooped it up with the peel and when she opened the oven door smoke came billowing out.  After several minutes she rotated the pies.  Several minutes more, mine was finally done.  They don’t use boxes there cause the pies are too big to fit.  They use pieces of cardboard and staple white paper over the pie to the cardboard.  When I finally got that baby home and opened it………..pu