Author Topic: Essential Equipment  (Read 1398 times)

Offline sourbug

• Brewing and Making Pizza
Essential Equipment
« on: December 04, 2013, 10:21:40 AM »
Hello,

I'm just getting started and I used the search function, but couldn't find a post about this.  I'm just wondering if people could recommend what they feel are "essential" pieces of equipment to get started with making great pizza at home. For instance, I see a lot of talk about having a great mixer (which I don't have).  I have a couple good books on the way, a stone and a peel, but what else would really help me get started?  Thanks!

Offline Aimless Ryan

• Snarky
Re: Essential Equipment
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2013, 10:27:59 AM »
A scale.

Offline Aimless Ryan

• Snarky
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2013, 11:07:10 AM »
And I wouldn't put too much stock or trust in the books. I've never seen a book that can compare to what you can learn on these boards, although I admit I haven't looked at any books in many years. Still, I don't expect that to have changed much because both book publishers' and authors' primary objective is to sell books and make money. Even if they know the best pizzamaking tricks and whatnot, such information usually doesn't make it into books because the best pizzamaking tricks require readers to think a little bit and do things differently than what "common knowledge" has taught them. Also, a lot of pizza books are written by bakers and chefs. Pizzamaking is not the same thing as either baking or cooking. Consequently, most bakers and chefs are not pizzamaking experts (or anything remotely similar).