Author Topic: Neopolitan pizza in a Marsal brick oven  (Read 2441 times)

Offline forzaroma

Neopolitan pizza in a Marsal brick oven
« on: April 18, 2013, 12:38:57 PM »
Hi everyone

I have been working in a wood burning pizzeria for about 2 years and love that type of pizza more than anything in the world. I recently took a job at a pizzeria that does neopolitan type if pizza with a marsal brick oven.

My question is how can I closely mimic the effects of neopolitan pizza in terms if cornicione puffiness and tender dough. The recipe they use is made with 00 yeast sugar oil salt and lard. I have free range to change it up. What you guys think?

Online scott123

Re: Neopolitan pizza in a Marsal brick oven
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2013, 12:58:18 PM »
As far as I know, unless the oven has been seriously hacked, it's not possible to get a 90 second pizza out of a Marsal.  If it's not 90 seconds or less, it's not Neapolitan. Without a 90 second bake, it's not going to have the 'cornicione puffiness and tender dough' of Neapolitan pizza- at least, not with a traditional NP dough.

The Marsal could easily be the best tool on the market for NY style.  That's what it's engineered for.  You've already got one foot in the NY realm with the addition of lard.  Forget the Neapolitan label, embrace NY completely and go with a more temperature specific flour- that's the only way you're going to get the puffiness and tenderness at 3+ minutes.

Offline forzaroma

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2013, 01:05:15 PM »
I'm not looking to do a 3 minute bake or have it neopolitan. I'm looking for a cross if neopolitan and ny style . I cannot embrace ny pizza in this restaurant. It's kind if fine dining and not a slice joint, I can omit and I actually have omitted the lard on done rest runs. Some pizzas I actually got a good puffy cornicione.

Online scott123

« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2013, 01:16:03 PM »
What's your current bake time?

Offline forzaroma

« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2013, 01:23:18 PM »