Author Topic: Brand new to this, looking for advice!  (Read 440 times)

Offline cerone

Brand new to this, looking for advice!
« on: January 16, 2015, 11:06:41 PM »
Hi everyone,

I've made it one of my personal goals in 2015 to make a neapolitan (or neo-neapolitan) style pizza at home. I first discovered the pizza style in 2009-2010 when Antico Pizza opened up in Atlanta, GA. Since then, I've moved to California and have enjoyed many more neapolitan pizzas. I love science (I'm an engineer) and cooking, but have never really attempted to make homemade pizza (other than buying pre-made dough).

I've been doing a lot of reading over the past few days and plan to make my first pizza next weekend. I've been gathering information from a variety of resources and wanted to put together my plan in writing, both for myself as a guide and to hopefully get some advice before I start.

I will be cooking on a Big Green Egg (large size). I've had the egg for a few years now and am pretty comfortable with it. I don't think I'll have much trouble getting it up to about 700-800 degrees. I plan to use a modified setup to raise my pizza stone above the standard surface level. I'm hoping this will allow me to get a better balance between pizza stone surface temperature and dome temperature. Ideally this will allow my top to brown before the bottom burns. I have attached a photo of a similar setup below.

Now on to what I'm most unfamiliar with, the dough. Below is what I pieced together as a starting point from my reading...

25 oz Bread Flour | 100%
15.25 oz bottled water | 61%
0.5 oz salt | 2%
0.125 IDY | 0.5%

I plan to dissolve the salt in room temperature water (~70F). I'll mix the flour and IDY in the mixing bowl. Next, I'll pour the salt/water in to the mixer and set it to speed 2 for about 10-15 minutes (until smooth and relaxed).

Next I'll put it in the fridge for fermentation.