Author Topic: Improving Dough's Flavor  (Read 2126 times)

Offline susanandmarkw

• I Love Pizza!
Improving Dough's Flavor
« on: June 24, 2013, 12:24:29 PM »
I'm an avid cook and baker and have been reading these forums for a while now. Been making pizza at home for years and have honed my techniques somewhat, but I'm not in the big leagues like most here. My main use case is to make pizza for my family 2-3 times per month.

I've got a simple sauce I really like (garlic, olive oil, tomatoes and balsamic), and we usually do a bit of pre-cooked pepperoni and onion, with some basil after the fact, though I've been known to mix it up with spinach or arugula as well, to sneak in a few extra veggies. Usually use very light cheese, and a blend of mozz and parm or similar hard Italian, all fresh. Also sometimes make a "grown-up" pie for hubby and self that's a little more daring, and generally sauce free: pesto, bacon/onion, eggplant, straight Marg with fresh tomatoes, lobster, etc.

Used Cook's Illustrated's pan pizza recipe (using skim milk as the liquid and AP flour) for years, pretty happily. Doctored it up a bit with herbs, parm, etc. now and again, just to shake things up.

Recently moved from there to a more New York style, baked on an oven stone (currently using the Dough Joe) at 500 degrees for about 6-8 minutes. Started with Cook's New York recipe, and a few others, but have found we generally prefer the Dough Joe blend.

Right now I'm pretty happy with the texture of my dough. I've been doing half recipes--a full recipe just makes too much pizza for us--divided into two balls. I'm using King Arthur organic bread flour, as that's also what I use in my bread. I use filtered water, kosher salt, organic EVOO and SAF instant yeast. I've been letting the greased balls rest/develop in the fridge for 24-48 hours, then proof at 70-80 degrees 3-4 hours before using.