Author Topic: Home made pizza oven.  (Read 2962 times)

Offline theideman

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Home made pizza oven.
« Reply #20 on: June 02, 2013, 04:19:45 PM »
Tom, do you know the BTU rating of the burner you finally went with?

Also, I'm curious, is this oven for personal use or are you considering selling it commercially?

I do not know the BTUs sorry, as i understand the BTU rating is more based on the wood burnt than the furnace. This project started as pizza oven for my home, but as more folks see it and like it, the more I am coincidering  making a few to sell.  I am more inventor - engineer than sales so I am not expecting much.

Offline shuboyje

« Reply #21 on: June 02, 2013, 04:41:26 PM »
I agree with the need for oversize heat source, we tested 3 sizes and our current size provides both enough heat but not over power the stone.  I have been testing and redesigning the deflector for three months still not happy though.  As for the low dome, I also use this oven for baking breads and other things, so the dome height was designed with multi purpose in mind.

What about a pizza centric addition?  I'm envisioning a pizza plate that slides into the oven on a couple simple rails.  It not only brings the flame closer to the top of the pizza, by changing the flame path in the oven it gives a much longer flame over the pie.  These two changes should super charge your top heat, allow higher deck temperatures and therefore drastically reduced bake times. 

I made a very crude drawing.
-Jeff

Offline theideman

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #22 on: June 02, 2013, 07:12:06 PM »
What about a pizza centric addition?  I'm envisioning a pizza plate that slides into the oven on a couple simple rails.  It not only brings the flame closer to the top of the pizza, by changing the flame path in the oven it gives a much longer flame over the pie.  These two changes should super charge your top heat, allow higher deck temperatures and therefore drastically reduced bake times.