Author Topic: Uno's sauce  (Read 2857 times)

Offline bad-hat-harry

• I Love Pizza!
Uno's sauce
« on: February 03, 2006, 09:26:15 PM »
I'm no fan of Uno's crust but I think they have the best sauce going.  I love 6 in 1 tomatos but Uno's obviously uses chunks of whole tomatos.  I've been trying to duplicate it using San Marzanos (although I seriously doubt they would spend money on real San Marzanos!). 

Has anyone tried to duplicate Uno's sauce?  Also, most recipes I see with hand crushed tomatos do not use sugar - it really does seem as if there is a touch of sugar in the recipe, though.  Has anyone verified this? And the sauce seems lightly seasoned - but loaded with flavor!  I also think there is garlic powder in there somewhere (not real garlic). 

My best guess is:

Crushed tomatoes (maybe mixed with 6 in 1)
garlic powder
salt
sugar
dried basil
maybe a little oregano
pepper

Thoughts on these ingredients?  fyi, I used to be a professional taster for an herb company so I'm pretty good at deconstructing recipes... however, I can't nail this down and it's killing me!  :pizza:

Bill

Offline foodblogger

• Favorite Chain Pizza - Gino's East
    • My Food Blog
Re: Uno's sauce
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2006, 08:39:49 AM »
Are you eating at the Uno's in downtown Chicago or at an Uno's Chicago Grille?

Offline buzz

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2006, 10:51:52 AM »