Author Topic: Soapstone Countertop for Dough Prep  (Read 976 times)

Offline mitchjg

• Supporting Member
Soapstone Countertop for Dough Prep
« on: June 22, 2013, 10:01:09 AM »
Hi:

We are in the process of finalize design for our kitchen remodel.  So far, we have selected soapstone for our countertops.  We have had granite for years and agree it is time for a change. 

Does anyone have experience, comments, etc. regarding the suitability for opening a dough on the countertop?  I have had zero issues with granite and understand wood is too absorbent and steel may be "too cold."  But, I have not (yet) found commentary here on the use of soapstone (other than as a baking stone).

Thought I would check with you folks before committing.

Thanks a lot!

- Mitch

Offline red kiosk

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Soapstone Countertop for Dough Prep
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2013, 11:01:34 AM »
Hi Mitch,

Congrats on your kitchen remodel! I'm actually a kitchen designer and have had my soapstone countertops and sink for something like 15 years. Soapstone is not maintenance-free like granite, but definitely worth every bit of the time it requires. I used to do all my doughs right on the countertop with no problem, except clean-up was a bit more involved. Because the traditional surface treatment for soapstone is mineral oil, even after wiping it off with a soft towel, it is still there just under the surface. The flour that is on the surface of the countertop can draw some of the mineral oil out from below the surface and result in a lighter colored patch where the flour was. Quick fix though… a little olive oil on the dry patch and then rub it in with a paper towel. The degree to which this happens is all dependent on how long ago you treated you counters with the mineral oil. I'm at the point now where I treat them every two months or so, for they are pretty saturated. Initially, you will be treating them every week or so for a while. Daily wiping the counters down with a damp rag or s