Author Topic: Ball opening methods  (Read 733 times)

Offline Iowamcnabb

Ball opening methods
« on: September 04, 2014, 03:20:35 PM »
I'd like to know everyone's preferred ball opening method and why.  A lot of the better known pizzaiolos seem to use some variation of the slap while others stretch in a circular motion directly on the table.

I personally do the initial press on both sides followed by a few stretches over the knuckles.  The knuckles method is the easiest to master and is probably the most gentle.  Why don't more professionals use this method?  Am I missing something by not slapping? 

Offline mkevenson

• Lifetime Member
  • Roos! Protector of Fowl
Re: Ball opening methods
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2014, 04:33:25 PM »
I am no pro, so if this thread is directed at pro's sorry. For the best texture, ie most tender, I gently press the ball from near center with the flat part of my fingertips, pushing towards the outer edge, or what is eventually going to be the outer edge. I gently turn the more flattened dough with a easy stretching turning combo motion, never lifting the dough off the prep table. I proceed until I achieve approx 14" round shape. I take care not to push in the direct center of the dough ball, it flattens by itself, and I also take care to not touch the cornice or outer edge of the flattened dough. This method is relatively new to me as I never had a prep surface before the allowed such easy turning and stretching without lifting off the table. I think I will stick with it untill I find a better way.

Mark
« Last Edit: September 04, 2014, 04:35:24 PM by mkevenson »
"Gettin' better all the time" Beatles

Offline Iowamcnabb

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2014, 04:58:13 PM »
Mark, have you noticed a tenderness difference over other methods?  What type of prep counter do you use?  I use granite and the dough doesn't  slide as easily as I would like

Offline mkevenson

• Lifetime Member
  • Roos! Protector of Fowl