Author Topic: JD's "Around the world" thread  (Read 112 times)

Offline JD

• Supporting Member
JD's "Around the world" thread
« on: March 03, 2015, 08:30:48 AM »
When making pizza, I tend to be a creature of habit. I decided recently I need to try making new styles of pizza so I'm creating this thread to encourage me to go outside my comfort zone. I'm going to start with this high level pizza "bucket list" and see how things go but if I'm missing something, feel free to suggest adding it. Since I have never tried certain styles before, I'm going to need members to be my mentors & critics. I will not do this in any particular order or timeline, but hopefully I complete it before the end of 2015  :-D

1. American Style
2. Chicago cracker
2. Chicago thin
3. Chicago deep dish
4. Chicago stuffed
4. Detroit
5. NY thin
6. NY sicillian
7. Neapolitan
8. Pizza al taglio
9. Focaccia

Offline JD

• Supporting Member
Re: JD's "Around the world" thread - Detroit Style
« Reply #1 on: Yesterday at 09:33:23 PM »
So my first stop around the world is Detroit style. I've always admired Normas Detroit style pizza in her Two Billís pizza..dough and Carmelina Sauce..great! thread, so I thought it would be a great place to start. Norma gave me some guidance behind the scenes, and with her help it turned out very good I think. Of course I have never eaten a Detroit style pizza so I have no idea how traditional my pizza was, but it tasted damn good.

Norma gave me a slightly modified recipe based off this recent one she posted: http://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php?topic=21559.msg358089#msg358089

I used 50% All Trumps bromated & 50% KAAP, topped with ~4oz white cheddar, a bit of Mozz, baked at 500* in a 7 x 10 non-stick brownie pan on a stone for 10 minutes.