Author Topic: How to make that pizzeria-like brown spots on Pizza  (Read 189 times)

Offline Aizaz

• I Love Pizza!
How to make that pizzeria-like brown spots on Pizza
« on: July 30, 2014, 04:28:00 PM »
Okay I have been making Pizza of different styles and topping since a few months and yes they are really tasty.  :chef:
But it dosnt look like that of a Pizzeria.
why ? because it lacks the brown-spots in between the white cheese (See the pic). I wanted o know how to create these ?
As you can see the rectangular pizza made by me is nice but its all white. While the Pizzeria's pizza have some brown patches. If I increase the baking time whole pizza turns more brown but not like that of pizzeria.

[The pic on top is mine pizza]

Offline Aimless Ryan

• Snarky
Re: How to make that pizzeria-like brown spots on Pizza
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2014, 04:50:16 PM »
I wanted o know how to create these ?

Use very cheap cheese? I wouldn't want that effect. If I did, I'd go to Pizza Hut or some other place that sells crappy pizza.

Offline Aizaz

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2014, 04:53:56 PM »
Use very cheap cheese? I wouldn't want that effect. If I did, I'd go to Pizza Hut or some other place that sells crappy pizza.
How using cheap cheese really makes this effect. I have used mozzarella of different brands. Also Mozzarella + Cheddar combo. But never been able to achieve this effect

Online scott123

« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2014, 05:15:23 PM »
Aizaz, as Ryan pointed out, many here see that kind of spotting as a defect.

If that's a trait you're striving for, fat is the answer- less fat. Cheddar gives off considerable fat- lose it.  Switch from whole milk  low moisture mozzarella to part skim.  With enough top heat, you'll see plenty of brown spots.

Offline Tscarborough

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
    • Pizza Anarchy
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2014, 06:18:25 PM »