Author Topic: My broiler attempts  (Read 888 times)

Offline pythonic

• Pizza......its what's for dinner!
My broiler attempts
« on: July 13, 2013, 09:19:50 PM »
This is my first time using the broiler.  Onwards......

12hr poolish (made three 14in balls)
61% hydration

Attempt 1 (24hr cold rise)

Preheated stone at 550 with convection for 20 minutes on 2nd rack.
Move stone up to top shelf and switched on broiler.  Let it run 4 cycles. 

Launched pizza and opened door at 1:45 to keep flame on.  Pulled at 3 minutes.
Got some char from 2 big bubbles (rats).  Nevertheless this pizza was very good!  The crust was very tender inside and had a nice light crisp on the outside.  The bottom was a little light most likely because of the short preheat.  My next attempt I will go for an hour preheat.

Nate

« Last Edit: July 13, 2013, 09:28:22 PM by pythonic »
If you can dodge a wrench you can dodge a ball.

Offline jeffereynelson

Re: My broiler attempts
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2013, 09:27:36 PM »
That looks good. You got some good top color there from a 3 minute bake!

Offline pythonic

« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2013, 09:43:48 PM »
That looks good. You got some good top color there from a 3 minute bake!

Thanks Jeff.  Gonna have to play around with flours too.  This was 100% bouncer.

Nate

Offline Canyon

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2013, 11:57:53 PM »
Really like the broiler method for NY style. I've achieved great color balance by placing the stone on the very lowest oven rack to maximize bottom coloring. I bake for 4-5 minutes on the stone, then move the pie to the top rack and broil directly on the rack (without the stone) until the top looks like yours. Usually I switch the broiler on 1 minute before moving the pie to the top rack. I agree about the longer pre-heat, however, the stone heats up much faster near the floor of the oven as I'm sure you know. Here is a pic of a pie I made using the broiler method and left over Tartine dough. Good luck!

Offline CDNpielover