Author Topic: Re: Best Flour  (Read 1166 times)

Offline dsw@widenor.com

• Lifetime Member
  • Best Pizza Supplies
    • Best Pizza Supplies
Re: Best Flour
« on: July 16, 2013, 02:43:08 PM »
I am new to participating on PizzaMaking.com.  I was wondering what the members of this site consider as the BEST pizza flour and whether they weigh the flour or simply add the flour by the cup.  Any thoughts would be welcome.  Thanks
For the Love of Pizza

Offline mkevenson

• Lifetime Member
  • Roos! Protector of Fowl
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 03:03:51 PM »
DSW, I would suggest that you read the recipes of the various styles of pizza found in the forum index.
There are many brands and types of flour being used across the board, with fewer choices being used in each individual style category.

I personally have 3 flours that I have been using regularly both by themselves and in combo with each other. These would be Caputo 00 Pizzeria, King Arthur bread , and All Trumps. I have not figured out what style of pies I make but I like them.

I might suggest that you start with flour that is readilly available to you and try it. If you like it and don't like to experiment then your search is over, if however you like to experiment, there are many flours avail on line, even if you can't find them in your local stores.

Good luck.

Mark
"Gettin' better all the time" Beatles

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2013, 03:06:11 PM »
Yvonne,

There really is no good answer to the question on favorite flour. Flour types and brands are most often correlated with pizza style. And, even then, people can have different ideas as to the best flour and brand to use. And then there are members who won't use bromated flours whereas others will seek them out. Some members even blend different flours to meet their needs.