Author Topic: Belotti's Pies  (Read 698 times)

Offline belotj

• I Love Pizza!
Belotti's Pies
« on: June 15, 2015, 11:24:12 AM »
My first post  ;D.  I have been making pizzas for a few years causally but this site has certainly peaked my interest so I decided to follow my pizza making more closely and talk about it here.  Traditionally I have been using this recipe subbing in 00 flour --> http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/001199.html

Tipo 00 Flour – 700 g + 85 g
Water (Tap) – 462 g
Fleischmanns Pizza Crust Yeast – 14 g
Kosher Salt – 15 g
EVOO – 18 g

Preparing the yeast:  Used ~ Ό cup of warm tap water and mixed in a teaspoon of white sugar.  Then mixed in the yeast and let rest for about 15 minutes.  The yeast was fully foamed in that time.

Preparing the flour:  Chilled the 700 g of flour in the fridge for about 30 mins and then sifted it into the Kitchen Aid mixing bowl.  Spread salt over the top and set the mixing bowl in the mixer stand. 

Kneading the dough: I used a Kitchen Aid stand mixer with the dough hook attached.   I set the mixer speed setting to 4 to combine the flour and salt.  I slowly added 90% the water.  Then I dumped in the yeast foam.  Then I poured in the EVOO and finally the remaining water.   The bowl and dough was wet so I added about 85 g more flour in total.  Speed setting was a little high so I reduced to 2.  Overall time in the mixer was about 3 minutes (2 minutes on setting 4 and 1 minute on setting 2).  The dough was tacky. 

Storing the dough: I rubbed a small amount evoo on the inside of a glass bowl and stored the entire dough ball in it.  The bowl was placed in the refrigerator at 9:30 pm with plastic wrap over the top.