Author Topic: Dough Ball Time Lapse  (Read 1482 times)

Offline iRobertO

• I Love Pizza!
Dough Ball Time Lapse
« on: July 18, 2013, 05:34:45 AM »
I am more used to cold ferments but I want to get away from that. Since I am not used to it, I thought I would do a little test with varying starter amounts. I made 4 dough balls with: 100% Caputo, 60% hydration, 3% salt and Camaldoli starter.
Ball 1 - 1%
Ball 2 - 2%
Ball 3 - 3%
Ball 4 - 4%

I put them on a tray covered in wrap in my garage where it is around 70 (kitchen is too hot currently at around 80 - 85). My inconsistency with balling may have caused some premature pancaking of ball 3 and the wrap was tighter on other balls. As well, there was an open bit of wrap in front of ball 1 and you can see it dry out on the edge.
So that I knew what was happening, I used my GoPro to take a photo every minute for 26.5 hours. I thought it would be fun to do a time lapse of it (1,600 photos). I am new to the whole time lapse thing so I will work on figuring out how to get better quality videos out of it. There is an annoying green line at the bottom of the frame. Anyways, here is the link to show them proofing in 26 hrs in under a minute. I'm sure you would have figured it out, but ball 3 is under the thermometer.

Pizza Napoletana Dough Ball Experiment

iRobertO

Offline JD

• Supporting Member
Re: Dough Ball Time Lapse
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2013, 09:01:16 AM »
Cool! The last few hours of fermentation is when things really start to happen.

Any comparative pizza pictures?
Josh

Offline Pizzaboyo

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2013, 01:26:08 PM »
Excellent  ;D
An Irishman is never drunk as long as he can hold onto one blade of grass and not fall off the face of the earth.

Online TXCraig1

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2013, 02:06:42 PM »
Very cool. I looks like ball 4 is ready to be baked? That would be in line with the sourdough starter quantity predictive model.
I love pigs. They convert vegetables into bacon.

Offline iRobertO