Author Topic: KettlePizza first fire  (Read 1222 times)

Offline muidaq

• I Love Pizza!
KettlePizza first fire
« on: July 19, 2013, 08:12:53 PM »
First off, a disclaimer...I'm a total newbie when it comes to pizza, but I've read all I could in the past few weeks to try and learn what y'all have to teach. 

Here's my first Kettle Pizza setup.

Foiled the charcoal grate to direct all the incoming air to the back where the fire pile will be.

« Last Edit: July 19, 2013, 08:17:44 PM by muidaq »

Offline muidaq

• I Love Pizza!
Re: KettlePizza first fire
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2013, 08:20:51 PM »
Next I put my hacked up smokenator down.  Partially to fill the void and partially to reflect heat up to the stone platform.

Offline muidaq

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2013, 08:22:21 PM »
Next I put the grate in the stock location and set the stone platform on it.  The platform is a bent up 20" pizza pan from the local restaurant supply store.  ~$6.  Next, on with the stone that fits like a glove.  http://www.axner.com/cordieriteshelf-15x16x1octagon.aspx

I created the platform for another configuration before I got the Pizza Kettle.  This isn't the designed setup, but since I have a heavier stone, this will make it easy to remove the steel ring when it's time to shut down since the main stone stays put after closing up shop.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2013, 09:16:57 PM by muidaq »

Offline muidaq

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2013, 08:27:28 PM »
Up top is another grate with el cheapo pizza stone #1 to store and deflect heat on top.  This may be replaced with another pizza pan to just deflect fire.  Finally, all assembled. 

My first fire is burning right now.  1/2 a chimney of KBB and three baseball sized chunks of wood.

Offline muidaq

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2013, 08:39:33 PM »