Author Topic: yeast levels in bulk 3 day cold fermentation recipe+ other questions  (Read 1673 times)

Offline PizzaStation1234

• I Love Pizza!
I want to do a bulk recipe, 3 day fermentation, remove dough from fridge then roll into dough balls, leave at room temp until an order comes, then I'll stretch and top the dough, place in a gas burning double decker brick oven to bake. possible doing 100+ pizzas a day with nice 1/4 thick skin and crispy bottom.

At least that's what I think I'm going to do, but I am far from an expert. Any advice is welcomed on this topic PLEASE!
I wanted to know if the yeast % needs to be lower for a 3 day cold fermentation. This is what I have so far

Flour MONDAKO (100%):    10201.89 g  |  359.86 oz | 22.49 lbs
Water (60%):    6121.14 g  |  215.91 oz | 13.49 lbs
ADY (.50%):    51.01 g | 1.8 oz | 0.11 lbs | 4.5 tbsp | 0.28 cups
Salt (1.5%):    153.03 g | 5.4 oz | 0.34 lbs | 15 tbsp | 0.94 cups
Oil (1%):    102.02 g | 3.6 oz | 0.22 lbs | 7.56 tbsp | 0.47 cups
Sugar (2%):    204.04 g | 7.2 oz | 0.45 lbs | 17.06 tbsp | 1.07 cups
Total (165%):   16833.12 g | 593.76 oz | 37.11 lbs | TF = 0.105
Single Ball:   336.66 g | 11.88 oz | 0.74 lbs

will this work for my 3 day method? If not what should I change? I'll have the oven around 450, should I cook on a slotted pizza tray then finish direct on the brick? Should I Dock the dough? I need wisdom from experience

Any advice is welcomed and need, thank you.

Offline jeffereynelson

Re: yeast levels in bulk 3 day cold fermentation recipe+ other questions
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2013, 02:04:28 PM »
As far as your workflow, you should ball the dough and get them in trays to go in the walk-in. I've never seen someone do a bulk 3 day ferment and then ball. That would make life tough. When they are balled and in the fridge you just pull dough ball trays out as you go and need them.