Author Topic: first time neapolitan maker needing dough advice  (Read 1530 times)

Offline keefas@hotmail.co.uk

first time neapolitan maker needing dough advice
« on: June 27, 2013, 03:47:05 PM »
hi all,

about a year ago i decided i wanted to make better pizza! after some posts on here and other forums seeking advice i have built my own pompeii oven! i'll pop a link up to my build thread if any of you guys wanna take a look . . .

http://ukwoodfiredovenforum.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=pompeiiovens&action=display&thread=1209

any comments or advice good or bad will be warmly recived as i'm no expert!!

anyhow as the builds just about completed now i'm looking for a good started neapolitan dough. at the moment i have access to strong bread flour, more specifically allisons strong bread or extra strong bread flour, plain flour and fresh yeast,  IDY or ADY.

i'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction for a suitable dough for a beginner . . . i dont want to completely embarrass myself at the first firing!!

thanks

keith

Offline swatson

• Supporting Member
    • Clydebank Build
Re: first time neapolitan maker needing dough advice
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 05:12:49 PM »
Hi Keith,

Im Stevie I gave you the Keste clone recipe on the WFO forum did you try it?

Offline csafranek

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 10:05:04 PM »
Nice work on the oven Keith!!!

Offline f.montoya

« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2013, 07:21:32 AM »
Hey Keith,

You are more than welcome to copy my "easy" NP dough process. There are more advanced dough-makers here and you can eventually progress to experimenting with some of their recipes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M7wRA3GldOw

I recommend fermenting in the fridge for 2 days and then in a very cool area for at least 4 hours before balling. Then keep your doughballs cool. In Winter, you might be able to get away with less temp control but cooler dough stays soft, pliable, and leopards better in wood fired ovens.

Offline TXCraig1