I asked a related question about 2 months ago but it's stale so I'll start again
I'm considering opening a fast casual franchise but have a major concern regarding throughput. Successful Fast Casual chains (not pizza) average $1.5 - $2.0 million a year. Chipotle is the king at $2.4mm. (the true King in $/unit is Jason's Deli though I don't remember the number)
Let's consider $1.2mm which the pro-forma says is close to break even after debt service and modest owner salary. Individual pies range from $7.50-$14.00 with beer, wine, espresso and salads filling out the check. Assume $14/ticket. (that's a wild guess. franchisor says it's too low but I figure there's plenty of lunch folks who share one and have sodas.
$1.2mm/year = $100k/month = $3,300/day
At $14/ticket that's 236 diners per day. Everyday, including Tuesday, rainy days and ice storms. It means some days should have to do 300 and a lot of that would be during lunch and dinner hours.
Can 2 ovens, each with 3 pizza capacity, turn out enough product to support that? Can assemblers, pizziolas and cashiers who are efficient, yet not superhuman, keep up?
My heart wants to do it but my head has to be convinced.