Author Topic: Dough Dr to the rescue....please  (Read 879 times)

Offline jazzflo

• I Love Pizza!
Dough Dr to the rescue....please
« on: August 04, 2013, 05:12:31 PM »
Hello all, i am new to the pizza quest ( 6 months) but have seriously been bitten by the bug.  i am driving friends and family insane through my incessant babbling about pizza dough! I am hoping to start a wood-fire oven business, taking my trusty trailer and oven to various festivals food shows. i have followed Jeff Varasano's pizza recipe for his Neo style pizza, as they look amazing, (as do a lot of others on this forum) but as you would suspect from my lack of experience, i am struggling to get this down.

When my dough has aged in the fridge 2 - 3 days it comes out of the container ok although it seems a little on the wet side ( it would be difficult to pick it up and dip it in flour as it would start to stretch on its own accord!) When i stretch the dough by pushing, it becomes thin very quickly, almost always gets wrinkled, stretching it with my fists becomes too difficult as the dough is almost transparent by this stage and sometimes starts to rip, and by the time i place on the peel it is creased and often with rips . Also when i stretch the dough and i manage to avoid a tear (and tears), i find that the dough comes out thin in parts which results in an uneven baked pizza. When i window pane after mixing ( i use a kitchen aid at the moment) the dough can handle being stretched to create a good windowpane.