Author Topic: Newbie - Suggestions for utilising a "cooler" home electric oven  (Read 683 times)

Offline Huxtable

• I Love Pizza!
Hi everyone

Whilst I'm a newbie on these forums, I've been lurking a few months, learning heaps. I've been a very amateur home pizza maker for the last two or three years, improving and experimenting all the time, generally producing some yummy and popular results (with a few amusing disasters along the way!).

I love pizzas with relatively thin bases, with a preference for Neopolitan-style and I guess what Americans seem to call "New York style" pizzas. I do a lot of bread-baking, and enjoy incorporating whole wheat flour etc into my pizza bases.

In summer, I like to cook the pizzas on one of my outdoor bbqs; I have a charcoal-fuelled Weber Kettle-style bbq, and a big 6 burner gas bbq as well, which can both crank the heat and produce some nice pizzas.

However, the cold and darkness make outdoor pizzas for dinner extremely difficult in winter. We have a nice wide (& relatively fancy) freestanding oven in our kitchen - gas burners on top and an electric internal oven, with an internal bottom element and "exposed" top grill element.

Whilst this oven is great for most purposes, I've never really nailed pizza in it - and the main problem is it just doesn't seem to get hot enough. I don't yet have an IR temperature reader, but the dial - and it seems to be fairly accurate, if not a bit optimistic - goes up to 220C - only 430 Fahrenheit.

I have tried numerous things - including getting a pizza stone as hot as possible (i.e. heating for up to 90 minutes, as close to grill as possible, etc) but the bottom will never char/cook properly, and the top will not "puff" with oven spring. It doesn't seem like the pizza stone could possibly be effective at these "low" temperatures. The stone is a thin one (and actually cracked tonight when removing the pizza, annoying me further).