Author Topic: newbie looking for dough help  (Read 1121 times)

Offline goldphishe

• I Love Pizza!
newbie looking for dough help
« on: February 20, 2006, 09:22:21 AM »
I think I have the basics down  - the pizza always tastes really good - but the dough doesn't always cooperate.  I am a restaurant inspector from NJ and every time i inspect a pizza place (we only have "NY" pizza) i always ask the guys how they do what they do.  I've made the leap from AP to High Gluten (one of the guys was nice enough to provide me with a few lbs of flour to get started because I couldn't find it in the grocery stores) but the dough still doesn't get very stretchy.  The recipe i worked with is:

1/2 tsp honey
1 scant cup of warm water
1 package active dry yeast
2 3/4 cup High Gluten Flour
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 tbs olive oil

I let it knead in my kitchenaid for 15 minutes then form it into a ball and oil it then let it rise in a warm spot until it doubles, punch it down, then wait 5 minutes - split the dough in half (to make 2-12" pizzas) then procede with the pizza making.  I generally get pissed off and wind up using a rolling pin to stretch it out.  the dough never gets as thin as i want it  to - but it does taste good. 

I talked to one of the pizza guys and he said my recipe sounds about right (as far as the ingrediants go) but they make so much dough in advance that they refrigerate it rather than let it rise on the counter.

« Last Edit: February 20, 2006, 09:55:26 AM by goldphishe »

Offline Perk

• Supporting Member
  • Dreams of Pizza!
Re: newbie looking for dough help
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2006, 10:29:28 AM »
Your pizza actually looks good!

In my opinion by what you wrote, and believe me, I am no expert but found things out the hard way.
There is a couple things to look at,
The way you prep your dough
First you are correct, use either bread flour that you can buy in the store or high gluten flour you can order.