Author Topic: Where to go from here?  (Read 3406 times)

Offline Grilling24x7

• Grilling 24x7
Where to go from here?
« on: March 14, 2009, 07:17:33 AM »
Hello!
While I'm not new to making a homemade pizza, I am new to the types of dough and styles of pizza that I am seeing on this board.  Before I ask for comments and suggestions to make my current pie better let me state my purpose.  I have two main goals from joining this board: 

1.  I would like some comments on how to improve my current pizza. 
2.  I want to learn how to make these amazing looking NY style pizzas that I see around here.

So to begin, this post will deal with #1.  For the past 4 years my wife and I have been making a really nice whole wheat crust pizza.  Now before this gets moved to the whole wheat section let me say that I am not against removing the whole wheat!  I just want some suggestions from people who may not be whole wheat lovers so I have posted it here.

Let me describe our current pizza and post some pictures and then if anyone has any comments or sees ways to improve this, please let me know.  I am not afraid of criticism b/c I know that this is a quick and dirty pizza.  I want to take my skills learned from the below pizza and use them with your recipes (and my new pizza stone and peel that I just ordered!).

Here goes:

For the whole wheat dough:
1 pkg rapid rise yeast
1 cup wheat flour
1 cup AP flour
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1/2 cup warm water and some extra if needed
1 T extra virgin olive oil

-stir yeast with the 1/4 cup of water- stand 5 min.
-combine flours and salt - stir in yeast mixture + oil. 
-add enough water to make a moderately stiff dough.  cover and rise for 15 min at room temp.  knead 2 or 3 times
and stretch out onto a pizza pan.   
-bake at 450 for 10 min then add toppings and bake again for another 10 minutes.