Author Topic: My Detroit to Me!  (Read 1115 times)

Offline Markus M.

• I Love Pizza!
My Detroit to Me!
« on: July 23, 2013, 11:12:49 PM »
Finally got my detroit pans in last week, this is my first attempt! After scanning for weeks on Norma's, Craigs, and other members post, Im finaly able to post one of my own. :) Thank you all for such great work and determination that has come before me. It has been great encouragement. This is my first time at this style of pie, and I wasn't sure what to expect. And in doing so, I took some of what I've been learning and branched out into something a bit different by using a preferment for this pie. It was good, but Im working on better and lighter, and overall, balance. Most of this pie stuck to the pan and the cheese on the crust was way over burnt/overcooked, bottom was crispy though and maybe just a bit to oily. Topping were Sargento Low Moisture Mozz, Cabot NY Xtra Charp Aged Chdr around the edges, Hormel Pep, and store brand crushed tomato mixed with fresh basil (will be going to SM soon). But my family still managed to gobble it all up! here are the specs

For the Poolish:
  500 grams KABF
  500 grams 105 degree H20
  3     grams IDY
  Hand mixed and rested 12 hours

Final Mix:
  500 grams KABF
  300 grams 105 degree H20
  30   grams sea salt
  20   grams veg oil
  3     grams IDY
  Hand mixed with the 12hr Poolish
  Rested for 5 and put in pans for 3
  Baked at 500 for 12mins

Offline TXCraig1

Re: My Detroit to Me!
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 11:35:36 PM »
Those look awesome!
I love pigs. They convert vegetables into bacon.

Offline Chicago Bob

• Lifetime Member
  • Easy peazzy
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 11:36:23 PM »
Excellent job with your pics Markus, thanks!  ;)
I don't think the crust cheese is even close to being burnt...looks like a great first try at a tricky to bake DS pizza.  :chef:
"Care Free Highway...let me slip away on you"

Offline Markus M.

• I Love Pizza!