Author Topic: Flours for NY style dough  (Read 2091 times)

Offline nostalgia

Flours for NY style dough
« on: February 21, 2006, 10:12:53 AM »
Morning, all!  I've been puttering with breads and pizza for a couple of years now, and recently have been trying to find a really good formula for dough to make NY style pies.  I've been a King Arthur flour user, and it's been recently suggested that changing my flour might make my dough more manageable.

The one I use most is a 1 day dough, from a Wolfgang Puck recipe.  It uses 100% AP flour:

Food Network

It makes a nice handling dough than can be stretched and tossed, but the flavor is lacking.

I then went to a recipe from The Bread Baker's Apprentice.  It uses an overnight ferment, 50/50 bread/AP flour, and makes an extremely slack dough.  The taste was fantastic, but the dough was almost impossible to handle.  It tore very easily.

So, any suggestions for a relative newbie are more than welcome!

-Joe

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Flours for NY style dough
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2006, 10:36:42 AM »
nostalgia,

If you are trying to make a standard NY style pizza, I believe that high-gluten flour is the best choice, followed by a good quality bread flour. If you look under the NY Style board, you will find links to several different formulations. I am pretty much familiar with all of them, so if you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Peter

Offline nostalgia

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2006, 11:09:48 AM »
If you are trying to make a standard NY style pizza, I believe that high-gluten flour is the best choice, followed by a good quality bread flour.
I was under the impression that bread flour is high-gluten.  Or is it just higher gluten than AP flour, but not as high-gluten as "high gluten" flour?

I'm going to have to build a wing on my kitchen to hold all of the flours I'm accumulating :)

-Joe

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator